Setting up shop

For 2012, I’ve made it my goal to start selling my crochet goodies through Etsy. I haven’t set the shop up yet– I want to have a decent inventory first. The idea of selling my crocheted items online wasn’t my own– I crocheted a few things, showed friends, made and sold stuff to them, and naturally, they told me I should start an Etsy shop.

I’ve been thinking about what I could possibly make in a short amount of time that is simple, practical, and easy for me to make (just in case the item becomes popular). This is what I’ve come up with for now: iPhone cozies. I made one for myself and have gotten compliments on it from friends and complete strangers. I’m starting simple though: no fancy buttons or embroidery, just a secure cozy for an iPhone in fun colors. I do have plans to sell both a pattern and cozy of the one I currently use. It is a flip wallet iPhone case. It may sell a little better since I don’t see many of them on Etsy.

If you have any suggestions or comments, please let me know! I want to be able to sell items that people want. Here’s what I’ve got so far:

The iPhone cozies I’m working on:

20120111-212651.jpg

My iPhone cozy:

20120111-213428.jpg

20120111-213406.jpg

20120111-213421.jpg

Leave a Reply

